top of page

Incubating Adventures


Today on the farm, Keith brought home 25 assorted chicken eggs from Meyer's Hatchery in Polk, Ohio. 

What inspired us to incubate eggs? Well, in 2016 I was inspired by my mentor teacher during my student teaching experience. My mentor teacher offered students the opportunity to incubate eggs in the classroom. When I graduated in December, I was offered the opportunity to long term sub in my student teaching classroom in the Spring. I decided to incubate eggs with my 2nd grade classroom. 

Exposing my students to the lifecycle of a chicken from egg to chick was an unforgettable experience. It was definitely I wanted to be able to experience with my fiance, Keith. 

Therefore, when the spring fever bug arrived in January, and Keith and I opened the now annual conversation about plans for the farm, we decided it was time to expand. 

The "greenhouse" Keith had built was already being used for our current chickens. Being as large as it is, we realized we can afford to EXPAND THE FARM! 

After 21 days of incubating, 24 out of our 25 eggs hatched. I couldn't believe the success. Later I found out that Keith was waking up in the middle of the night to check the incubator and make sure it was perfect for the eggs. That's the kind of love that goes into this farm. When the power went out and the incubator wasn't working without electricity, Keith woke up and put warm water bottles around the incubator. We will do anything and everything to give our animals the best life possible. 

Stay tuned to hear about the chicks and their growth! 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page